Advising

For All Students: 

If you are undeclared, and interested in the Biology Major, please check the School of Science and Technology Advising page.

SSU only uses the sonoma.edu email address to send out important information regarding Financial Aid, Registration dates and times, etc.  Biology majors receive information about advising, registration and job/internship opportunities via their sonoma.edu email address.

First-Time, First Year Students:

As a new first-year student, you should be registered for First Year Orientation. If not, please contact the Orientation office: (707) 664-4464 or visit students in the fieldthe Orientation website for more information.

During Summer Orientation, you will register for your Fall classes, and get your questions answered by advisors in your major. Before classes begin, you will be assigned an advisor who is a full-time faculty member in the Biology Department. Please look for your advisor in your MySSU or Loboconnect account, then check the chart below for contact information and office hours. You are welcome to change your advisor if you prefer someone else.

Please Note: There is always Mandatory Advising for First-Time, First Year Students in October, just prior to registration for the Spring semester. We strongly recommend checking in with your advisor once or twice every semester!

Transfer Students:

Transfer students must attend Transfer Orientation. Before classes begin, you will be assigned an advisor who is a full-time faculty member in the Biology Department. Please look for your advisor in your MySSU or Loboconnect account, then check the chart below for contact information and office hours. You are welcome to change your advisor if you prefer someone else.

Graduate Students:

When you arrive, be sure to meet with your PI and/or the Graduate Coordinator to help you create your schedule. There is an orientation within the Biology Department at the start of each semester. For more information, please visit the Graduate Program pages.

For general questions about finding an advisor, please send an email to biology@sonoma.edu.

 

Faculty Advising Office Hours
Name Email & Phone Office Hours
Lisa Patrick Bentley lisa.bentley@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2918

Dr. Bentley is on sabbatical for the Spring 2022 semester.
Michael Cohen cohenm@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3413
Tue:
4:50 p.m.-5:50 p.m. In-Person or Zoom
Wed:
1:15 p.m.-3:15 p.m. In-Person or Zoom

Daniel E. Crocker crocker@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2995
Wed - Thu:
10:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m.

Nicholas Geist nick.geist@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3056

Derek J. Girman girman@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3055

Lisa Hua hual@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2339
Mon:
2:15 p.m.-3:45 p.m. In person or via Zoom

Brent B. Hughes hughes@sonoma.edu
707-664-2142
Mon:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. via Zoom
Wed:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. via Zoom

Office hours via Zoom or by appointment
Joseph Lin linj@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2931
Wed:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. or by appt
Thu:
12:30 p.m.-2:30 p.m. or by appt

Please email me prior to coming to office hours to set up a specific time slot within my office hours. I will confirm that time with a separate office hours Zoom link if you would like to meet online.
Murali C. Pillai pillai@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2981
Thu:
11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. via Zoom

Sean P. Place places@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3054

Dr. Place is on professional leave from SSU and currently serving as a Program Director for the National Science Foundation
Nathan E. Rank rank@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3053
Tue:
1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.
Wed:
1:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m.

Richard Whitkus whitkus@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2303
Wed:
1:30 p.m.-3:00 p.m. In Person or Zoom
Thu:
11:00 p.m.-12:30 p.m. In Person or Zoom

Mackenzie Zippay zippay@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-4349
Tue:
11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. via Zoom until 2/11

Office Hours will be in person after 2/11/22.