Advising

For All Students: 

If you are undeclared, and interested in the Biology Major, please check the School of Science and Technology Advising page.

SSU only uses the sonoma.edu email address to send out important information regarding Financial Aid, Registration dates and times, etc.  Biology majors receive information about advising, registration and job/internship opportunities via their sonoma.edu email address.

First-Time, First Year Students:

As a new first-year student, you should be registered for First Year Orientation. If not, please contact the Orientation office: (707) 664-4464 or visit students in the fieldthe Orientation website for more information.

"Who is my advisor?" During Summer Orientation, you will register for your Fall classes, and get your questions answered by general academic advisors. After classes begin, you will be assigned a faculty advisor who is a full-time faculty member in the Biology Department. Please look for your advisor in your MySSU or Loboconnect account, then check the chart below for contact information and office hours. You are welcome to change your advisor if you prefer someone else.

Transfer Students:

Transfer students must attend Transfer Orientation. A Biology faculty member will be available to help you register for classes. Once classes begin, you will be assigned an advisor who is a full-time faculty member in the Biology Department. Please look for your advisor in your MySSU or Loboconnect account, then check the chart below for contact information and office hours. You are welcome to change your advisor if you prefer someone else.

Graduate Students:

When you arrive, be sure to meet with your PI and/or the Graduate Coordinator to help you create your schedule. There is an orientation within the Biology Department at the start of each semester. For more information, please visit the Graduate Program pages.

Still have questions about advising and advisors? No Problem!

Please email us - biology@sonoma.edu - and we will point you in the right direction!

 

Faculty Advising Office Hours
Name Email & Phone Office Hours
Michael Cohen cohenm@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3413
Wed:
1:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m. by appointment
Thu:
3:30 p.m.-5:00 p.m. via Zoom

Reserve time slots using this calendar. My Zoom Link.
Daniel E. Crocker crocker@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2995

Nicholas Geist nick.geist@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3056
Tue:
2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.
Thu:
2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.

and by appointment.
Derek J. Girman girman@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3055

Lisa Hua hual@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2339
Tue:
11:30 p.m.-1:00 p.m.
Thu:
2:15 p.m.-3:45 p.m.

Office Hours in person or Zoom by appointment. Zoom link: https://SonomaState.zoom.us/j/7819766978.
Brent B. Hughes hughes@sonoma.edu
707-664-2142
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

Joseph Lin linj@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2931
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Thu:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

or by appointment
Lisa Patrick Bentley lisa.bentley@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2918

Sean P. Place places@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3054

Nathan E. Rank rank@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3053
Mon:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Tue:
2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.

and by appointment.
Richard Whitkus whitkus@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2303
Wed:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Thu:
11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.

Appointments for other times optional.
Mackenzie Zippay zippay@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-4349
Tue:
11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m.