Advising

For All Students: 

If you are undeclared, and interested in the Biology Major, please check the School of Science and Technology Advising page.

SSU only uses the sonoma.edu email address to send out important information regarding Financial Aid, Registration dates and times, etc.  Biology majors receive information about advising, registration and job/internship opportunities via their sonoma.edu email address.

First Time Freshmen:

As a new first-year student, you should be registered for Freshman Orientation. If not, please contact the Orientation office: (707) 664-4464 or visit students in the fieldthe Orientation website for more information.

During Summer Orientation, you will register for your Fall classes, and get your questions answered by advisors in your major. Before classes begin, you will be assigned an advisor who is a full-time faculty member in the Biology Department. Please look for your advisor in your MySSU or Loboconnect account, then check the chart below for contact information and office hours. You are welcome to change your advisor if you prefer someone else.

Please Note: There is always Mandatory Advising for First Time Freshmen in October, just prior to registration for the Spring semester. We strongly recommend checking in with your advisor once or twice every semester!

Transfer Students:

Transfer students must attend Transfer Orientation. There are on-campus orientations as well as online for those who cannot come to campus.  However, it is strongly recommend to attend an on-campus orientation, as you can chat directly with advisors, and create your schedule. Before classes begin, you will be assigned an advisor who is a full-time faculty member in the Biology Department. Please look for your advisor in your MySSU or Loboconnect account, then check the chart below for contact information and office hours. You are welcome to change your advisor if you prefer someone else.

Graduate Students:

When you arrive, be sure to meet with your PI and/or the Graduate Coordinator to help you create your schedule. There is an orientation within the Biology Department at the start of each semester. For more information, please visit the Graduate Program pages.

For general questions about finding an advisor, please send an email to biology@sonoma.edu.

Faculty Advising Office Hours
Name Email & Phone Office Hours
Lisa Patrick Bentley lisa.bentley@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2918
Wed:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. , 1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. via Zoom

Michael Cohen cohenm@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3413

Available By Appointment Only

My Google Calendar link for office hours.
Daniel E. Crocker crocker@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2995
Wed:
1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m. via email and Zoom

Nicholas Geist nick.geist@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3056

Dr. Geist is on leave for the Fall 2020 semester.
Derek J. Girman girman@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3055
Mon:
12:00 p.m.-1:00 p.m. and by appointment
Wed:
1:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m. and by appointment

Lisa Hua hual@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2339

Available By Appointment Only

My Zoom Link for Office hours. Please email to schedule a time to meet.
Brent B. Hughes hughes@sonoma.edu
707-664-2142
Tue:
10:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. via Zoom
Wed:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. via Zoom

Joseph Lin linj@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2931
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. and by appointment
Fri:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. and by appointment

Murali C. Pillai pillai@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2981
Mon:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Via Zoom and email
Wed:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Via Zoom and email

Sean P. Place places@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3054

Dr. Place is on sabbatical for the Fall 2020 semester.
Nathan E. Rank rank@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3053
Wed:
1:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m. via Zoom
Thu:
10:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. via Zoom

Richard Whitkus whitkus@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2303
Tue:
1:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m. via email
Wed:
1:30 p.m.-2:30 p.m. via email
Thu:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. via email

Mackenzie Zippay zippay@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-4349
Tue:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Available via Zoom
Thu:
12:00 p.m.-1:00 p.m. Available via Zoom