Advising

For All Students: 

If you are undeclared, and interested in the Biology Major, please check the School of Science and Technology Advising page.

SSU only uses the sonoma.edu email address to send out important information regarding Financial Aid, Registration dates and times, etc.  Biology majors receive information about advising, registration and job/internship opportunities via their sonoma.edu email address.

First Time Freshmen:

As a new first-year student, you should be registered for Freshman Orientation. If not, please contact the Orientation office: (707) 664-4464 or visit students in the fieldthe Orientation website for more information.

During Summer Orientation, you will register for your Fall classes, and get your questions answered by advisors in your major. Once classes have started, you will be assigned an advisor who is a full-time faculty member in the Biology Department. You are welcome to change your advisor if you prefer someone else.

Please Note: There is always mandatory advising for first time Freshmen in October, just prior to registration for the Spring semester. We strongly recommend checking in with your advisor (see below) once or twice every semester!

Transfer Students:

Transfer students must attend Transfer Orientation. There are on-campus orientations as well as online for those who cannot come to campus.  However, it is strongly recommend to attend an on-campus orientation, as you can chat directly with advisors, and create your schedule. After the semester begins, you will be assigned a Biology faculty advisor.

Graduate Students:

When you arrive, be sure to meet with your PI and/or the Graduate Coordinator to help you create your schedule. There is an orientation within the Biology Department at the start of each semester. For more information, please visit the Graduate Program pages.

 

Faculty Advising Office Hours
Name Office Hours Office
Lisa Patrick Bentley
lisa.bentley@sonoma.edu
Tue:
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Thu:
10:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m.
Darwin 238 (Lab: Darwin 237)
Michael Cohen
cohenm@sonoma.edu
Tue:
2:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m.
Wed:
2:15 p.m.-2:45 p.m.
Darwin 222 (Lab: Darwin 221)
Daniel E. Crocker
crocker@sonoma.edu
Darwin 242 (Lab: Darwin 243)
Nicholas Geist
nick.geist@sonoma.edu
Wed:
1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.
Fri:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Darwin 241 (Lab: Darwin 240)
Derek J. Girman
girman@sonoma.edu
Tue - Wed:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Darwin 217 (Lab: Darwin 218)
Lisa Hua
hual@sonoma.edu
Mon:
2:15 p.m.-3:45 p.m.
Wed:
2:15 p.m.-3:45 p.m.
Darwin 216 (Lab: Darwin 215)
Brent B. Hughes
hughes@sonoma.edu
Mon:
11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m.
Wed:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Darwin 217 (Lab: Darwin 218)
Joseph Lin
linj@sonoma.edu
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Fri:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Darwin 211 (Lab: Darwin 212)
Murali C. Pillai
pillai@sonoma.edu
Tue:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Thu:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Darwin 214 (Lab: Darwin 212)
Sean P. Place
places@sonoma.edu
Mon:
10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
Wed:
10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
Darwin 220 (Lab: Darwin 226)
Nathan E. Rank
rank@sonoma.edu
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
Thu:
12:30 p.m.-2:00 p.m.
Darwin 223 (Lab 224)
Richard Whitkus
whitkus@sonoma.edu
Tue:
10:00 a.m.-12:00 a.m.
Wed:
2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.
Thu:
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Darwin 213
Mackenzie Zippay
zippay@sonoma.edu
Wed:
10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
Darwin 235 (Lab - Darwin 234)