Advising

For All Students: 

If you are undeclared, and interested in the Biology Major, please check the School of Science and Technology Advising page.

SSU only uses the sonoma.edu email address to send out important information regarding Financial Aid, Registration dates and times, etc.  Biology majors receive information about advising, registration and job/internship opportunities via their sonoma.edu email address.

First-Time, First Year Students:

As a new first-year student, you should be registered for First Year Orientation. If not, please contact the Orientation office: (707) 664-4464 or visit students in the fieldthe Orientation website for more information.

During Summer Orientation, you will register for your Fall classes, and get your questions answered by advisors in your major. Before classes begin, you will be assigned an advisor who is a full-time faculty member in the Biology Department. Please look for your advisor in your MySSU or Loboconnect account, then check the chart below for contact information and office hours. You are welcome to change your advisor if you prefer someone else.

Please Note: There is always Mandatory Advising for First-Time, First Year Students in October, just prior to registration for the Spring semester. We strongly recommend checking in with your advisor once or twice every semester!

Transfer Students:

Transfer students must attend Transfer Orientation. Before classes begin, you will be assigned an advisor who is a full-time faculty member in the Biology Department. Please look for your advisor in your MySSU or Loboconnect account, then check the chart below for contact information and office hours. You are welcome to change your advisor if you prefer someone else.

Graduate Students:

When you arrive, be sure to meet with your PI and/or the Graduate Coordinator to help you create your schedule. There is an orientation within the Biology Department at the start of each semester. For more information, please visit the Graduate Program pages.

For general questions about finding an advisor, please send an email to biology@sonoma.edu.

Faculty Advising Office Hours
Name Email & Phone Office Hours
Lisa Patrick Bentley lisa.bentley@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2918
Tue:
1:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m.
Thu:
1:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m.

Dr. Bentley's Zoom Meeting Room for Office Hours
Michael Cohen cohenm@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3413
Tue:
2:30 p.m.-4:00 p.m.
Wed:
10:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

To schedule an appointment, please use this Google Calendar
Daniel E. Crocker crocker@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2995
Wed:
2:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m. and by appointment

Please email for Zoom link
Nicholas Geist nick.geist@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3056
Tue:
10:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. , 11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Thu:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

Also by Appointment. Please email for Zoom link.
Derek J. Girman girman@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3055

Please email for appointment and Zoom link.
Lisa Hua hual@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2339
Wed:
9:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m. via Zoom

Brent B. Hughes hughes@sonoma.edu
707-664-2142
Mon:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. via Zoom
Wed:
11:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. via Zoom

Joseph Lin linj@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2931
Mon:
10:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m.
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

Please email prior to coming to Office Hours.
Murali C. Pillai pillai@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2981
Thu:
11:15 a.m.-12:45 p.m. and/or by appointment.

Sean P. Place places@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3054
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. and by appointment

Nathan E. Rank rank@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-3053
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-11:30 a.m.
Thu:
12:30 p.m.-2:00 p.m.

Please email for Zoom link
Richard Whitkus whitkus@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-2303
Tue:
12:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m.
Wed:
1:30 p.m.-3:00 p.m.

Please use this Google Appointment Page for Office Hours
Mackenzie Zippay zippay@sonoma.edu
(707) 664-4349
Tue:
1:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m. via Zoom